The Spanish Labour Market Association (AEET) holds Labour Market Conferences every two years.

The conferences strive to be a forum for debate about key issues related to the functioning and results of the labour market and economic policies designed for it. Since they were first held in 1995, the Labour Economics Conferences have become the most important gathering for economists who, working at different universities and research centres in Spain, specialise in the study of the labour market. The goal of the conferences is, first of all, to promote and disseminate studies about the labour market, but also to train and perfect experts in this subject, as well as to promote professional contacts and exchanges, comparing papers and research about the subject among different persons and institutions, national and international, interested in the same.


We are pleased to invite you to participate in the XIII Jornadas de Economía Laboral/13th Labour Economics Meeting  – JEL 2019 - of the AEET (Spanish Association of Labour Economics), which will take place on June 12–14, 2019 at the University of Huelva in Islantilla (Huelva) – Antilla Grand Hotel (hotel rooms at special conference rates are available).

The event is co-organised by the Department of Economics (University of Huelva, Spain), the Faculty of Economics (University of Algarve, Portugal) and the partnership of the International University of Andalusia

The deadline for extended abstract submission is March 26, 2019. Submitted manuscripts will undergo a peer review process. 

The schedule also includes a course on Advanced Methods for Labour Economics. The course will take place on Wednesday 12 June, 2019. Course Instructors: Pedro Raposo (Universidade Católica Lisboa), Hugo Reis (Banco de Portugal & Universidade Católica Lisboa) & Paulo M.M. Rodrigues (Banco de Portugal & Universidade Nova SBE)

We gladly announce internationally recognised keynote speakers:

  • Pedro Portugal (Banco de Portugal and Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

The returns to education unveiled

  • Juan Francisco Jimeno (Banco de España, IZA)

Implications of demographic and technical changes

  • Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes (San Diego State, US, CReAM; FEDEA & IZA).

Immigration policy consequences: Evidence from the U.S.?

  • Mirjam van Praag (President of the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam)

The economics of entrepreneurship and self-employment (TBC)


More details on the conference tracks, see the Call for papers at

The submission system will open on Jan 1 2019 in:

  • Attendees can participate in the Lluis Fina Prize to the best paper published in an academic review in 2017 or 2018
  • Full-time Ph.D. students can participate for grants (Luis Toharia Grants)

Please keep the following dates in mind as you prepare to attend the 2019 Jornadas de Economía Laboral in Islantilla, Spain.

01/01/2019 Extended abstract submission site opens

26/03/2019 Abstract submission deadline

15/04/2019 Notifications of acceptance

01/04/2019 Early bird registration and hotel reservation open

08/05/2019 Early registration deadline

15/05/2019 Final program publication

05/06/2019 Registration and hotel reservation deadline

12/06/2019 Meeting begins

For any questions, do not hesitate to contact us directly at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Extended Abstract submission deadline:  march 26, 2019

Organizing Committee

Antonio A. Golpe (Universidad de Huelva)-Coordinador

Jorge M.L.G. Andraz (Universidade do Algarve)-Coordinador

Alejandro Almeida (Universidad de Huelva)

Mónica Carmona (Universidad de Huelva)

Emilio Congregado (Universidad de Huelva)

José Ignacio García-Pérez (Universidad Internacional de Andalucía)

Jesus Iglesias (Universidad de Sevilla)

Raquel Justo (Universidad de Huelva)

Juan Manuel Martín (UNIR)

Ana Rodríguez-Santiago (Universidad de Huelva)

Concepción Román (Universidad de Huelva)

José Carlos Vides (Universidad de Huelva

Paulo M.M. Rodrigues (Banco de Portugal)

Scientific Committee

Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes (San Diego State University)

José María Arránz (Universidad de Alcalá)

Cristina Borra (Universidad de Sevilla)

Anabela Carneiro (Universidade do Porto)

Emilio Congregado (Universidad de Huelva)

Jesús Clemente (Universidad de Zaragoza)

José Ignacio García-Pérez (Universidad Pablo de Olavide)

Víctor M. Montuenga (Universidad de Zaragoza)

Raquel Llorente (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Coordinadora)

Alfonso Moral (Universidad de Valladolid)

Inés P. Murillo (Universidad de Extremadura)

Federica Origo (Università degli Studi di Bergamo)

Miguel Portela (Universidade do Minho)

Raúl Ramos (Universitat de Barcelona)

Paulo M.M. Rodrigues (Banco de Portugal)

Concepción Román (Universidad de Huelva)

Ana Rute Cardoso (IAE-CSIC, IZA)

José Ignacio Silva (Universitat de Girona, Coordinador)

Hipólito Simón (Universidad de Alicante)

Patricia Suárez (Universidad de Oviedo)

Paulino M. F. Teixeira (Universidade de Coimbra)

Carlos Usabiaga (Universidad Pablo de Olavide)

André van Stel (Trinity College Dublin, Kozminski University)

With kind regards

Antonio A. Golpe (Department of Economics/Departamento de Economía, University of Huelva/Universidad de Huelva)

Jorge Miguel Lopo Gonçalves Andraz (Faculty of Economics/Faculdade de Economia, Universidade do Algarve)

Chairs Organising Committee



RocketTheme Joomla Templates